Motion:	M-005-2024
.,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,	NI 005 2024

SUMMARY:

A Motion of Council confirming the appointment of Brian Harnak as Alternate to Diane Miller-Dawson (replacing Deborah Matz) and the reappointment of Mike Vinay as Alternate to Executive Ilene Shapiro to the Summit/Akron Solid Waste Management Authority Board.

MOTION OF THE COUNCIL OF THE COUNTY OF SUMMIT

Whereas, Section 2.03(2) of the Charter of the County of Summit provides that the Executive appoints officers and members of boards, agencies, commissions and authorities required by general law to be appointed by boards of county commissioners subject to confirmation by County Council; and

Whereas, on January 12, 2024, the County Executive submitted to the Council President and Clerk of Council one letter nominating Brian Harnak as Alternate to Diane Miller-Dawson (replacing Deborah Matz) and the reappointment of Mike Vinay as Alternate to Executive Ilene Shapiro to the Summit/Akron Solid Waste Management Authority Board; and

Whereas, upon receipt of an appointment nominating letter, Section 121.06 of the Codified Ordinances of the County of Summit requires the Clerk of Council to prepare a Motion of Council for consideration at the next Regular Council meeting;

NOW, THEREFORE, IT IS MOVED AND APPROVED, BY THE COUNCIL OF THE COUNTY OF SUMMIT, that:

- (1) The appointment of Brian Harnak as Alternate to Diane Miller-Dawson (replacing Deborah Matz) to the Summit/Akron Solid Waste Management Authority with a term commencing at the passage of this motion through 12/31/24, to serve without compensation, is hereby confirmed.
- (2) The reappointment of Mike Vinay as Alternate to Executive Ilene Shapiro to the Summit/Akron Solid Waste Management Authority with a term beginning 3/1/24 and ending 2/28/27, to serve without compensation, is hereby confirmed.

Movant: Ms. Sims	First Consideration: January 29, 2024
	·
Read and Approved:	
DocuSigned by:	
Veronica R Som	January 29, 2024
Council President	Date Approved
Decay Oliver and have	

Voice Vote – YES: 10 – 0: Darrow, Dickinson, Donofrio, McKenney, Rodgers, Schmidt, Sims, Walters, Wiedie Higham, Wilhite Absent: DeVitis