Motion:	M-011-2024

SUMMARY:

Clerk of Council

A Motion of Council confirming the appointments of Judge Alison McCarty (replacing Judge Kathryn Michael), Clerk of Courts Tavia Galonski (replacing Sandra Kurt), and Greta Johnson (replacing Deborah Matz) as alternate for Executive Ilene Shapiro to the Criminal Justice Advisory Board.

MOTION OF THE COUNCIL OF THE COUNTY OF SUMMIT

Whereas, Section 2.03(2) of the Charter of the County of Summit provides that the Executive appoints officers and members of boards, agencies, commissions and authorities required by general law to be appointed by boards of county commissioners subject to confirmation by County Council; and

Whereas, on January 18, 2024, the County Executive submitted to the Council President and Clerk of Council one letter nominating the appointments of Judge Alison McCarty (replacing Judge Kathryn Michael), Clerk of Courts Tavia Galonski (replacing Sandra Kurt), and Greta Johnson (replacing Deborah Matz) as alternate for Executive Ilene Shapiro to the Criminal Justice Advisory Board; and

Whereas, upon receipt of an appointment nominating letter, Section 121.06 of the Codified Ordinances of the County of Summit requires the Clerk of Council to prepare a Motion of Council for consideration at the next Regular Council meeting;

NOW, THEREFORE, IT IS MOVED AND APPROVED BY THE COUNCIL OF THE COUNTY OF SUMMIT, that:

- (1) The appointment of Judge Alison McCarty (replacing Judge Kathryn Michael) to the Criminal Justice Advisory Board with a term beginning at the passage of this motion to 2/12/25, to serve without compensation, is hereby confirmed.
- (2) The appointment of Clerk of Courts Tavia Galonski (replacing Sandra Kurt) to the Criminal Justice Advisory Board with a term beginning at the passage of this motion to 6/14/25, to serve without compensation, is hereby confirmed.
- (3) The appointment of Greta Johnson (replacing Deb Matz) as alternate for Executive Ilene Shapiro to the Criminal Justice Advisory Board with a term beginning at the passage of this motion to 6/14/25, to serve without compensation, is hereby confirmed.

Movant:	Ms. Sims	First Consideration: <u>January 29, 2024</u>
Read and Approv	ed:	
DocuSigned by: VILMUA R COSASHOFE4BA42A Council President		<u>January 29, 2024</u> Date Approved
DocuSigned by:		Voice Vote – YES: 10 – 0: Darrow Dickinson Donofrio McKe

Absent: DeVitis

Rodgers, Schmidt, Sims, Walters, Wiedie Higham, Wilhite