Motion: M-079-2024

SUMMARY:

A Motion of Council confirming the reappointments of Executive Ilene Shapiro (with alternate Joe Eckenrode), County Engineer Alan Brubaker (with alternates Charles Hauber and Stephanie Deibel replacing Larry Fulton), Mayor Sam Scaffide, Twinsburg Township Trustee Jim Balogh, Dave Kohlmeier (with alternate Zachary Kaczor), Dianne Sumego, Mike Vinay (with alternate Matt Calcei), and Caitlin Elrad and the appointment of James Taylor (replacing David Lukas) to the Northeast Ohio Four-County (NEFCO) General Policy Board and the reappointment of Ross Nicholson and Mayor Sam Scaffide to the NEFCO Intergovernmental Review Committee.

MOTION OF THE COUNCIL OF THE COUNTY OF SUMMIT

Whereas, Section 2.03(2) of the Charter of the County of Summit provides that the Executive appoints officers and members of boards, agencies, commissions and authorities required by general law to be appointed by boards of county commissioners subject to confirmation by County Council; and

Whereas, on November 21, 2024, the Executive submitted to the Council President and Clerk of Council one letter confirming the reappointments of Executive Ilene Shapiro (with alternate Joe Eckenrode), County Engineer Alan Brubaker (with alternates Charles Hauber and Stephanie Deibel replacing Larry Fulton), Mayor Sam Scaffide, Twinsburg Township Trustee Jim Balogh, Dave Kohlmeier (with alternate Zachary Kaczor), Dianne Sumego, Mike Vinay (with alternate Matt Calcei), and Caitlin Elrad and the appointment of James Taylor (replacing David Lukas) and to the Northeast Ohio Four-County (NEFCO) General Policy Board and the reappointments of Ross Nicholson and Mayor Sam Scaffide to the NEFCO Intergovernmental Review Committee; and

Whereas, upon receipt of an appointment nominating letter, Section 121.06 of the Codified Ordinances of the County of Summit requires the Clerk of Council to prepare a Motion of Council for consideration at the next Regular Council meeting;

NOW, THEREFORE, IT IS MOVED AND APPROVED, BY THE COUNCIL OF THE COUNTY OF SUMMIT, that:

- (1) The reappointment of Executive Ilene Shapiro (with alternate Joe Eckenrode) to the Northeast Ohio Four-County (NEFCO) General Policy Board, with a term of 1/1/25 to 12/31/25, to serve without compensation, is hereby confirmed.
- (2) The reappointment of County Engineer Alan Brubaker (with alternates Charles Hauber and Stephanie Deibel replacing Larry Fulton) to the Northeast Ohio Four-County (NEFCO) General Policy Board, with a term of 1/1/25 to 12/31/25, to serve without compensation, is hereby confirmed.
- (3) The reappointment of Mayor Sam Scaffide to the Northeast Ohio Four-County (NEFCO) General Policy Board, with a term of 1/1/25 to 12/31/25, to serve without compensation, is hereby confirmed.

- (4) The reappointment of Twinsburg Township Trustee Jim Balogh to the Northeast Ohio Four-County (NEFCO) General Policy Board, with a term of 1/1/25 to 12/31/25, to serve without compensation, is hereby confirmed.
- (5) The reappointment of Dave Kohlmeier (with alternate Zachary Kaczor) to the Northeast Ohio Four-County (NEFCO) General Policy Board, with a term of 1/1/25 to 12/31/25, to serve without compensation, is hereby confirmed.
- (6) The reappointment of Dianne Sumego to the Northeast Ohio Four-County (NEFCO) General Policy Board, with a term of 1/1/25 to 12/31/25, to serve without compensation, is hereby confirmed.
- (7) The reappointment of Mike Vinay (with alternate Matt Calcei) to the Northeast Ohio Four-County (NEFCO) General Policy Board, with a term of 1/1/25 to 12/31/25, to serve without compensation, is hereby confirmed.
- (8) The reappointment of Caitlin Elrad to the Northeast Ohio Four-County (NEFCO) General Policy Board, with a term of 1/1/25 to 12/31/25, to serve without compensation, is hereby confirmed.
- (9) The appointment of James Taylor (replacing David Lukas) to the Northeast Ohio Four-County (NEFCO) General Policy Board, with a term of 1/1/25 to 12/31/25, to serve without compensation, is hereby confirmed.
- (10) The reappointment of Ross Nicholson to the NEFCO Intergovernmental Review Committee, with a term of 1/1/25 to 12/31/25, to serve without compensation, is hereby confirmed.
- (11) The reappointment of Mayor Sam Scaffide to the NEFCO Intergovernmental Review Committee, with a term of 1/1/25 to 12/31/25, to serve without compensation, is hereby confirmed.

Movant: <u>Ms. Darrow</u>

Approved. Ritu 5. Darren

Councib Rassident 8443... DocuSigned by:

u l'illis

Clerk5966824400F5451 ...

First Consideration: December 2, 2024

December 2, 2024 Date Approved

Voice Vote – YES: 11 – 0: Darrow, Dickinson, Donofrio, Ford, Kacyon, McKenney, Rodgers, Schmidt, Wiedie Higham, Walters, Wilhite