Motion: M-087-2024

SUMMARY:

A Motion of Council confirming the reappointments of Executive Ilene Shapiro (with Dennis Tubbs as alternate) and Diane Miller-Dawson, and the appointment of Caitlin Elrad (replacing David Lukas) to the Akron Metropolitan Area Transportation Study (AMATS) Policy Committee and the reappointment of Brian Gorog to the AMATS Technical Advisory Committee.

MOTION OF THE COUNCIL OF THE COUNTY OF SUMMIT

Whereas, Section 2.03(2) of the Charter of the County of Summit provides that the Executive appoints officers and members of boards, agencies, commissions and authorities required by general law to be appointed by boards of county commissioners subject to confirmation by County Council; and

Whereas, on November 21, 2024, the County Executive submitted to the Clerk of Council one letter nominating the reappointments of Executive Ilene Shapiro (with Dennis Tubbs as alternate) and Diane Miller-Dawson, and the appointment of Caitlin Elrad (replacing David Lukas) to the Akron Metropolitan Area Transportation Study (AMATS) Policy Committee and the reappointment of Brian Gorog to the AMATS Technical Advisory Committee; and

Whereas, upon receipt of an appointment nominating letter, Section 121.06 of the Codified Ordinances of the County of Summit requires the Clerk of Council to prepare a Motion of Council for consideration at the next Regular Council meeting;

NOW, THEREFORE, IT IS MOVED AND APPROVED, BY THE COUNCIL OF THE COUNTY OF SUMMIT, that:

- (1) The reappointment of Executive Ilene Shapiro (with Dennis Tubbs as alternate) to the Akron Metropolitan Area Transportation Study (AMATS) Policy Committee with a term beginning 1/1/25 to 12/31/25, to serve without compensation, is hereby confirmed.
- (2) The reappointment of Diane Miller-Dawson to the Akron Metropolitan Area Transportation Study (AMATS) Policy Committee with a term beginning 1/1/25 to 12/31/25, to serve without compensation, is hereby confirmed.
- (3) The appointment of Caitlin Elrad (replacing David Lukas) to the Akron Metropolitan Area Transportation Study (AMATS) Policy Committee with a term beginning 1/1/25 to 12/31/25, to serve without compensation, is hereby confirmed.
- (4) The reappointment of Brian Gorog to the Akron Metropolitan AMATS Technical Advisory Committee with a term beginning 1/1/25 to 12/31/25, to serve without compensation, is hereby confirmed.

Movant: Ms. Darrow

First Consideration: December 2, 2024

Read and Approved: **DocuSigned by**:

Retu J. Darreyan

Soupsil Resident 28443...

Morique Willis

Clertscole Eracorsi451 ...

December 2, 2024 Date Approved

Voice Vote – YES: 11 – 0: Darrow, Dickinson, Donofrio, Ford, Kacyon, McKenney, Rodgers, Schmidt, Wiedie Higham, Walters, Wilhite